top of page
Beth baldwin

How The Queen's Gambit Changed My Life (And Why You Should Watch It Too)

If you're looking for a new show to binge-watch on Netflix, you might have heard of The Queen's Gambit, a miniseries based on the 1983 novel by Walter Tevis. The show follows the life of Beth Harmon, a fictional American chess prodigy who rises to the top of the chess world in the 1960s while struggling with drug and alcohol addiction. Sounds intriguing, right? Well, let me tell you why this show is more than just a captivating drama. It's also a powerful inspiration for anyone who wants to pursue their passion, overcome their challenges, and achieve their dreams.

I'll be honest with you. I was never interested in chess before I watched The Queen's Gambit. I thought it was a boring game for old men in suits. But after watching the first episode, I was hooked. I was fascinated by the way Beth played chess, with such grace, intelligence, and creativity. I was amazed by how she could visualize the moves in her head, and how she could outsmart her opponents with her unconventional strategies. I was also moved by her story, how she overcame her traumatic childhood, her loneliness, and her addiction, and how she found friendship, love, and purpose along the way.

 

The Queen's Gambit made me want to learn chess. I downloaded a chess app on my phone and started playing online. I watched tutorials on YouTube and read books on chess theory. I joined a local chess club and met other players who shared my enthusiasm. I even bought a chess set and a chess clock to practice at home. Chess became my new hobby, my new passion, my new obsession.

But chess also became more than that. It became a way for me to improve myself as a person. Chess taught me how to think logically, analytically, and creatively. It taught me how to plan ahead, anticipate consequences, and adapt to changing situations. It taught me how to be patient, disciplined, and focused. It taught me how to deal with failure, frustration, and stress. It taught me how to respect my opponents, learn from my mistakes, and celebrate my victories. Chess also helped me connect with other people who share my passion. I made new friends at the chess club, who supported me, challenged me, and taught me new things. I also met people online from different countries and cultures, who shared their stories, opinions, and insights with me. Chess opened my eyes to a whole new world of possibilities and perspectives.

The Queen's Gambit changed my life in ways I never expected. It inspired me to pursue my passion, overcome my challenges, and achieve my dreams. And it can do the same for you too. If you haven't watched it yet, do yourself a favor and watch it now on Netflix¹. Trust me, you won't regret it.



(1) The Queen's Gambit (miniseries) - Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Queen%27s_Gambit_%28miniseries%29.

(2) The Queen's Gambit (TV Mini Series 2020) - IMDb. https://www.imdb.com/title/tt10048342/.

(3) Netflix is launching its Queen’s Gambit chess game in July. https://www.theverge.com/2023/6/6/23749347/netflix-queens-gambit-chess-game-release-date.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page