top of page
Writer's picturethecmediallc

What Was I Made For? - A Reflection on Billie Eilish's New Song

Billie Eilish is known for her unique and captivating music that often explores themes of identity, loneliness, and self-doubt. Her latest song, "What Was I Made For?", is no exception. The song is part of the soundtrack for the new "Barbie" movie, which follows the iconic doll as she discovers herself in the real world. The song is a piano ballad that contrasts with the upbeat and cheerful tone of the movie, and it showcases Billie's raw and emotional vocals.

The lyrics of the song are simple but powerful, as Billie questions her purpose and existence. She sings:

> I used to float, now I just fall down

> I used to know, but I'm not sure now

> What I was made for

> What was I made for?

She expresses her feelings of disillusionment and loss of direction, as she feels like she has fallen from grace and lost her sense of self. She wonders what she was created for, and if she has any meaning or value.

She continues:

> Takin' a drive, I was an ideal

> Looked so alive, turns out I'm not real

> Just somethin' you paid for

> What was I made for?

She reflects on how she used to be an idealized version of herself, but she realizes that she is not authentic or genuine. She feels like a product that someone bought, and not a person with a soul. She repeats the question of what she was made for, implying that she feels empty and worthless.

The chorus goes:

> 'Cause I, I

> I don't know how to feel

> But I wanna try

> I don't know how to feel

> But someday, I might

> Someday, I might

She admits that she does not know how to feel anything, but she expresses her desire to try and find some emotion. She does not know how to feel happy or sad, but she hopes that someday she will be able to experience them. She shows a glimpse of optimism and hope, as she believes that someday she might find her answer.

The song ends with:

> Think I forgot how to be happy

> Somethin' I'm not, but somethin' I can be

> Somethin' I wait for

> Somethin' I'm made for

> Somethin' I'm made for

She confesses that she has forgotten how to be happy, and that happiness is something that she is not, but something that she can be. She implies that happiness is not a given, but a choice and a possibility. She reveals that happiness is something that she waits for, and something that she is made for. She finally answers her question, as she realizes that happiness is her purpose and destiny.

The song is a beautiful and poignant expression of Billie's inner struggles and doubts, as well as a universal question that many people ask themselves at some point in their lives. The song resonates with anyone who has ever felt lost or confused about their place in the world, and who has ever searched for meaning and happiness.

You can listen to the song here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpnTd9Dx2OM.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page